St Loui CITY Roman Bürki named 2023 Alltate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

Roman Bürki, after helping fuel St. Louis CITY SCs record-setting expansion season, has claimed the 2023 MLS Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Bürki, a former Swiss international and Borussia Dortmund standout, is the first player to win the award while competing for an expansion side since Zach Thornton (

Chicago Fire FC) in 1998. He is St. Louis CITYs first-ever player to earn an individual MLS Year-End Award honor.

Some key accomplishments for Bürki include:17 wins are the most by any goalkeeper during their first MLS season (post-shootout era).

42 goals conceded are the fewest of any goalkeeper to play at least 30 games for an expansion club in a 34-game season.

One of three goalkeepers to record over 100 saves in MLS (123) this season.123 saves on the year are the second-most among all goalkeepers in MLS.

Save percentage (74.55%) is fourth-highest among active MLS goalkeepers to play in at least 20 games this season.

First goalkeeper to produce at least 120 saves and eight clean sheets in a season since Vito Mannone in 2019.

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, which honors the best goalkeeper during the 2023 regular season, was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results, with finalists

The entry of Nike Dunk Lowin this mall into the world of sports has changed the way athletes choose their footwear. Its advanced technology and superior comfort make it the perfect combination of fashion, performance and reliability.

Roman Celentano (FC Cincinnati) and Pedro Gallese (Orlando City SC) finishing tied for second place.Voting Results

PlayersClubMediaTOTAL1. Roman Bürki (STL)60.61%70.74%71.1%67.48%2. Roman Celentano (CIN)6.06%4.89%3.47%

4.80%3. Pedro Gallese (ORL)3.03%7.32%4.05%4.80%Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year winners2023: Roman Bürki – St. Louis CITY SC

2022: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union2021: Matt Turner – New England Revolution2020: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union

2019: Vito Mannone – Minnesota United FC2018: Zack Steffen – Columbus Crew2017: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City

2016: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union2015: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls2014: Bill Hamid – D.C. United

2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC

2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire FC2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA

2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids

2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards1999: Kevin Hartman – LA Galaxy1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire

1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn